Early Years

For the free man there should be no element of slavery in learning. Enforced exercise may benefit the body but enforced learning will not stay in the mind. Therefore avoid compulsion and let your children’s lessons take the form of play.

Plato - The Republic

Children's first year in school (Reception class) is the final year of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) which children will have begun in Nursery, pre-school or with their childminder.

Our EYFS classroom serves forty five children. Staffed by two teachers and a teaching assistant, it provides a good adult/child ratio. Spacious and well resources indoor and outdoor spaces enable the seven areas of learning to be provided inside and outsider. This provides a favourable staffing ratio and environment for 45 children.

The curriculum has 7 areas of learning:

  • 3 prime areas (split into 7 aspects)
  • 4 specific areas (split into 6 aspects)

All have equal value although the aspects 1-11 define a 'good level of development' of GLD. This means if a child achieves within the age related standard at the end of the year in all 11 aspects, they have achieved the nationally expected standard.